Described as “a wide-eyed discovery”, Longview is an Adelaide Hills vineyard that truly makes an entrance.
Perfectly manicured vines dotted with; towering gum trees, gently undulating hills and big blue skies. As well as lush foliage and landscaped gardens. Surrounded by rural-chic architecture that knits together with this quintessential Australian landscape. Furthermore, this grand imagery has made the Longview experience an essential wine journey.
The new Cellar Door and kitchen stands as a bold expression of modern rural style and continues growing as a key destination on the burgeoning Adelaide Hills food and wine trail.
Formed from the original 1918 cottage of local pink sandstone. The building reflects the rusted ironstone and quartz soils on which it is built. Recycled timber and steel, street-art, a vaulting roof-line and floor to ceiling glass. This is a tasting room that is as dramatic as the sweep of the hills themselves. Furthermore, an ever-evolving menu of prime local produce can be enjoyed together with premium or casual wine tastings. Or additionally guests can relax and take in nature on the deck or settle in by the fire.
Gorgeous 4 star accommodation surrounded by one of the Adelaide Hill’s most awarded vineyards.
Our Suites and Homestead are where you come to recover from your work week, recoup after a wedding or simply relax for a few days to breathe the freshest air. As well as marvel at millions of stars and drink in the spectacular views of Longview.
Longview’s Suites are sleek rooms with modern amenities, balconies and kitchenettes. All housed in contemporary architecture and beautifully juxtaposed with the majestic surrounds. As a result, our Vineyard Suites are a popular Adelaide Hill’s get-away destination.
The newly renovated Homestead is a perfect lodging for a group or an indulgent retreat for 2. It can also be used as one large residence or two private apartments, The Shiraz and Pinot. Furthermore, the Homestead has become a mainstay for Longview’s guests using it as a base to explore the Adelaide Hills and Fleurieu Peninsula. As well as for preparing the myriad of weddings that are held here.
Weddings and world class events are an essential part of Longview’s DNA.
The manicured lawns, grand veranda and rustic charm of our Heritage Barn are the epicentre for these celebrations.
The function room is expertly renovated from the property’s original dairy and hay-shed from the 1920’s. Renowned for its massive open fireplaces, rugged timbers, stone and galvanised iron. It is a blank canvas ready-made for a hosts creativity.
Our multi-course banquets and elegant cocktail events are crafted around exciting menus from Longview’s resident chefs Alistair Raymond of NOMA/Ledbury and Rob Paglia of La Dolce Vita Catering. The chef’s have a long-standing relationship at Longview and are true champions of the brand’s local ethos.
Macclesfield is a small town situated in the Adelaide Hills, 45km south-east of Adelaide.
This historical town dates back to 1840, boasting brick and tile earth, limestone, marble, slate and walling stone. However, the township has changed over time but does still boast some of these beautiful features.
Before the arrival of Europeans, the Peramangk Aboriginal people inhabited the Macclesfield region of the Adelaide Hills. The area was known to the Peramangk people as ‘Kangowirranilla’, a place for water and kangaroos. During that time the area was rich in vital resources.
The first European pioneers included an English banker known as George Davenport, together with his partners Frederick and Roger. George, Frederick and Roger paid a large sum between them for a special survey of land in South Australia. Then in 1840 George sent his eldest son (from England) to SA to select the site for surveying. Initially George’s son was interested in land near Port Lincoln. However, his final choice was land on the upper region of the River Angus which included the township of Macclesfield. Macclesfield was then named after the Earl of Macclesfield in England, for whom George was a steward.
By 1841, the first hotel The Goat’s Head Inn now known as the Three Brother’s Arms was established. After that, in 1851 a brewery opened next door but later converted to a butter and cheese factory in 1903. Then again abandoned and a new factory opened in 1937. During those times there was also a shoemaker, a wheel wright and blacksmith.
In the earlier days of the Macclesfield township, the land was used for; crops, cattle, sheep, pigs, goats, horses, potatoes and vegetables.